Rope and treadle impovements

I’ve posted about how the knot in the rope makes it tend to shift off the pulley. I fixed this by cutting the rope exactly to the length it needed to be and then I singed the ends under a flame in order to prevent them from unwinding (the rope is nylon – I’m not sure this would work for a cotton rope). I then used regular sewing thread to stitch the two ends of the rope together. The job doesn’t look neat, but it works well. Treadling is much more fun now the rope stays in place!

The weakness of the treadle at its right hand side was partially improved by the addition of a second diagonal support. Although the very right part of the treadle is still weak under the foot, it is better than it was and the centre part of the treadle is now very usable.

[***See the completed treadle lathe in this video, and read the entire build series through this link***]

4 thoughts on “Rope and treadle impovements

  1. At some point in the future you might think about changing the rope to a leather strap. Several of our Victorian era treadles at the museum where I volunteer incorporate this and once they have stretched properly and restitched they are very grippy and smooth in use.

    Second, you may think about replacing your treadle with a hardwood to make it stronger. Your Pine version may get more fragile over the years in use and I know a few folks who broke their softwood treadles over time.

    The lathe looks great and thank you SO much for putting all this down in print. What a great resource.

    • I think I will be upgrading bits of the lathe here and there now that I know it works well and is something I’d love to put the time into! The treadle will be the first part to be replaced, I’m sure.

      The nylon rope detracts from the beauty of the lathe, that is certain, but the drive-centre will strip the sawn notches I make in the ends of the spindles before the rope slips on the pulley. Very grippy! I think the rosin helps a lot with this, along with the figure-8 path.

      Thanks for the encouragement! It is blogs like yours that have made woodworking accessible to people like me. The neoteric treadle lathe concept excites me and I hope other people will be interested enough to develop it further.

  2. I just found your site. Fantastic! An idea for strengthening the treadle: look at the cabled “mast” in the middle of the bamboo bike trailer on http://www.carryfreedom.com/bamboo.html
    With this not-so-traditional addition you’ll get trianular support that isn’t all in the same horizonal plane, and can be added easily. I think it will help reduce twisting in the treadle. I noticed last night in the original (I think) underhill book from the library that the back-left to front-right cross member was specifically half-lapped over the other to help prevent twist, based on the forces. This is pointed out in an image caption in the book.
    Thanks for posting all this.

Leave a Reply

