Base assembly and drawboring

The leg/stretcher joints were drawbored together with 3/8 oak dowels for strength. This was my first time ever doing it, so I would refer you to this article by Chris Schwarz for guidance on the technique.

Some points to note:

  1. I sharpened the 3/8 oak dowels with a pencil sharpener. Worked perfectly.
  2. I had no drawbore pins, but instead used the shaft from an old long spade drill bit. Part of the same shaft will be used for the parallel guide pin.
  3. My tenon holes were offset 1/8 inch from the mortise holes. I measured most by eye.

The glue-up and drawboring event was completed as fast as I could and then I dry-fit the top onto the legs to ensure they were set in the correct position.

Drawboring may seem daunting, but it really is easy. I’ll be using the technique in future projects for sure.

A final note: I glued the bench-top onto leg tenons. It’s not worth a separate post given the simplicity of the operation, and you’ll see it in pictures in following posts.

3 thoughts on “Base assembly and drawboring

  1. Love the arrow on the marks for the holes. I should have used the same technique to avoid putting my holes for my vice chop .. in the opposite and incorrect direction. 🙂

  2. Oh no! I did make the mistake of hammering in an oak pin only to realize that the stretcher was in back to front – I had to drill it out and now that “drawbored” tenon has pins only for show. So sad, but at least I didn’t have to scrap the project!

Leave a Reply

