Dogs, dog holes and pseudo-crochet

My dog hole drilling strategy for my Roubo was thus:

  1. The front line of holes are in line with the planing stop and are 4 inches apart. I would definitely say this is the maximum spacing the Veritas wonder dog is comfortable with. The spacing is wider where the bench legs interrupt the holes, but there will always be some combination of dogs/planing stop and the wonder dog that will work for a length of wood. From the front of the bench, they are 3.5 inches inboard to not interfere with the sliding deadman mortise.
  2. At the left side of the bench, two holes were drilled in line with the right side of the planing stop across the depth of the bench. These will help hold wide boards for planing.
  3. A few holes were drilled in the centre of the bench for holdfasts. These holes are always in line with the front and left-side holes to form a grid system. More can be added later if needs be.
  4. I was not going to add a crochet, but I did drill a dog hole in the front left of the bench to aid work being edge-planed in the leg vise. This pseudo-crochet terminates in the planing stop hole so any debris can be easily cleaned out of it it can also act as a pin for the times the planing stop doesn’t want to hold itself up.

I used a miter saw (Stanley 2358) to cut consistent 6″ round dogs out of oak dowel. I had to plane them a little because there a tad too wide, but they now have a great friction fit. I’ve made a handful so they can stay in the bench and prevent debris falling onto the shelf below.

6 thoughts on “Dogs, dog holes and pseudo-crochet

    • I have two cars in the garage, so it has to be stored against the wall at least. But I find that I move the bench away from the wall almost every time I am in the shop. It slides on the concrete floor with a bit of effort. It would be nice if it were permanently in the middle of the shop but I don’t mind moving it.

      It is essential to move it away from the wall when I am either using my 28″ miter box saw or traversing a wide board with a plane (e.g. scrub planing across the grain). The disadvantage is that it makes my tools harder to access, as they are in a tool cabinet above the bench.

    • Looks like you are producing nice furniture without it! Maybe wait until you get a thirst for the bench – nothing worse than building something without enthusiasm. Luckily, we are not doing this for a living.

      Also, thanks for the Wonder Dog advice you posted some time ago. It works pretty well and simplified the bench build. I guess an end vise would be sturdier, but I’ve found the Wonder Dog does the jobs I ask of it well enough.

  1. The wonderdog has worked I think for just about everything I ever asked it to do. I’m going to make a new top for my bench, hopefully starting in a few weeks. We’ll see how that goes.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

