Resawing by Hand and by Bandsaw

I have been resawing boards by hand for some time. The drawers of a dresser I recently made looked great with three pairs of book-matched drawer-fronts (see more info in this post).

I do get satisfaction from knowing I can resaw by hand well. However, it is a time consuming task. A few months ago I found some freshly cut logs on the road near my house. I used a sledge hammer and wedge to split them in quarters and started to resaw them to get 2 inch thick boards roughly 8 inches wide. I don’t know the wood variety but it is not oak (I only really know logs as oak and not-oak).

The cuts took a full weekend to complete at the expense of progressing with my current projects.

I cut some narrower boards in that time, too, but the picture below shows the number of logs I had to process. They would be dry and cracking by the time I got to them. And I’m sure this won’t be the last time I make a lumber discovery in the neighbourhood.

Given that time is getting tight in the workshop, I think I’d rather spend less time preparing stock and more time on the fun aspects of making furniture. We all know where this post is going. Band saw purchase.

I am a product review junkie, so I spent a ridiculous amount of time online narrowing my options to the Laguna 14 Twelve. I assembled the machine and then tuned it according to this YouTube video by Alex Snodgrass. Milling the remainder of the logs was a much faster operation.

5 thoughts on “Resawing by Hand and by Bandsaw

  1. What’s your resaw capacity? Do you have a riser block. I’m in the same boat as you and considering my first bandsaw. Thanks for sharing. I know this post is old.

    • It has a 12 inch capacity. No riser block is possible – it is one sold piece of machinery. I’ve had it for a few years now and I still think it is the best bandsaw for the money. The only downside is that the blade guides are a pain to adjust, which is annoying if you change blades a lot. Might be worth it though. Lots of resaw capacity and plenty of power. Does a good job collecting dust when you attach a dust collector, too.

Leave a Reply

