French Polishing: Sources of Information

I am researching how to French polish so I can add an old-school finish to a trestle table I am working on. The technique seems to be straight forward at first glance, but has so many details and slight variations that most videos and articles describing it are very long.

I thought it would be good to note the best sources I have found so far.

  1. An article from Luthiers Mercantile International (find it here) details the French polishing steps, equipment and pitfalls very thoroughly.
  2. The best videos I have seen on the matter are these YouTube videos of Patrice Lejeune and Mitch Kohanek.

Leave a Reply

