New Vise Handle

vise handle lathe

I broke my vise handle. It just snapped in the middle. I’m not an over-tightening sort-of-person, so I’ll blame it on some defect in the wood.

Now I do think that my handle was too long given I had hit myself in the face with it on more than one occasion. My replacement is shorter but made in the same way – one part is the shaft and one grip combined, and the other is the second grip that attaches to the shaft via a round tenon.

The new handle is made from stock I made from a log I found on my street. Not too sure of the wood but it is bright yellow (even after 6 months of drying) and doesn’t look as good on my Roubo bench as my previous handle. Maybe it will look better after time and use…

Leave a Reply

