Roubo top preparation and glue-up

After scrubbing the beams for the top with a plane, the lumber for both the top and the legs were squared using a combination square and a straight edge was used to check for flatness. I also used the combination square to check for thickness consistency: using a pencil and the square edge set to the narrowest part, I could find the places where a piece was a tad wide and mark it with a pencil. A few swipes with a jack plane, and the dimensions are even.

NOTE: planing long beams is difficult without a long workbench. I used my Workmate on its lowest height setting and my lathe became a stop. It worked better than I had hoped – it certainly beats using the floor.

The top is made of three beams. I perched the first on some parallel clamps on the ground and placed the second above for a dry fit. I made sure the grain was running in the same direction to make planing the top easier later on. I marked places where I saw no daylight coming through and removed material from these parts with a plane. It took a few iterations for each beam, but the job was done in 30 minutes or so. I don’t have millions of clamps like the other Roubo builders out there, but my four clamps did the job. Two of them are Bessey parallel clamps, which I bought specifically for this glue-up so that I could stand them on the floor.

The top is HEAVY and I had to drag it to the side of the garage at the end of the day. It will be tough to flip it over for the through mortises.

One thought on “Roubo top preparation and glue-up

Leave a Reply

